Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

May 24, 2017

Mick Mulvaney Director The Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street NW Washington, D.C. 20503

Dear Director Mulvaney,

We write to express our extreme concern and disapproval over your letter to the Office of Government Ethics, dated May 17, 2017, regarding OGE's request for copies of ethics waivers granted to political appointees in the executive branch, including the White House. As you know, OGE's request was issued in response to numerous reports of top administration officials receiving secret waivers to current ethics rules with no public disclosure.

Your letter requesting that OGE "stay" their call for these waivers based on vague and undefined legal questions raises serious concerns over transparency and accountability within the Trump Administration by undermining OGE's authority as well as effectively intimidating federal agencies from complying with the office's request. This unprecedented interference with OGE's statutorily-required duties under federal law goes beyond politics and party, as noted by former OGE Acting Director Marilyn Glynn who characterized your letter as "challeng[ing] the very authority of the director of the agency and his ability to carry out the functions of the office" in the *New York Times*.

As Members of Congress, we are committed and bound to ensuring the American public has faith in the institutions that serve them – that includes upholding our ethics rules to keep conflicts of interest out of the highest levels of our government. To that end, we urge you to immediately comply with OGE's original request to deliver all copies of waivers issued to appointees by the original June 1 deadline. We stand ready to hold all federal agencies and executive offices accountable for ensuring compliance with all ethics requirements and rules.

Sincerely,

Minan

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

ichael E Carpron

Michael E. Capuano Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego

Member of Congress

-la

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Man Vargas Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress



Member of Congress

Kyrster S

Member of Congress

ared Polis Member of Congre

Danny & Danic

Dannet. Davis Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Omes

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Marcy Kap

Member of Congress

jailua Raúl M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

Stephanie Murphy Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

ohn A. Yamuth

ohn A. Yannuth Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

utsi Galloon

Tulsi Gabbard Member of Congress

Ruben J. Kihuen Member of Congress

alle

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Carol Shea-Porter Member of Congress

Louise McIntosh Slaughter Member of Congress

om

Donald S. Beyer, Jr. Member of Congress

Peter A. DeFazio Member of Congress

Theodore E. Deutch Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer

Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

IASI

Keith Ellison Member of Congress

im

amie Raskin Member of Congress

Bonne Watson Coleman

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Kathleen M. Rice Member of Congress

Grade Meng

Menuber of Congress

Jackie Speier Memoer of Congress

Colleen Hunabusa Member of Congress

Cuillio

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

Time

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rusk Member & Congress

Luides

Bradley S. Schneider Member of Congress

Daniel Lipinski Member of Congress

Val B. De

Val Butler Demings Member of Congress

Nyshia Velo

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

David Scott

Member of Congress

Ted W. Liew

Ted Lieu Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Ami Bera Member of Congress

lanette,

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Clilli R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Tim Ryan

Member of Congress