Congressman Stephen F. Lynch today introduced legislation that would establish a nationwide moment of silence to honor our veterans.  The bipartisan bill has the support of 12 original co-sponsors: Rep. Yvette Clarke (NY- 9), Rep. John Conyers (MI-13), Rep. Alcee Hastings (FL-20), Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Rep. Walter B. Jones, Jr. (NC-3), Rep. Joseph P. Kennedy (MA-4), Rep. Edward J. Markey (MA-5), Rep. James P. McGovern (MA-2), Rep. Michael H. Michaud (ME- 2), Rep. Richard E. Neal (MA-1), Rep. Mark Pocan (WI-2), and Rep. Niki Tsongas (MA-3).

"As a nation, we have a responsibility to ensure that the sacrifice of our veterans is never forgotten.  A national moment of silence will send a powerful message to these brave men and women that we appreciate all they have done for their country," Congressman Stephen F. Lynch said.  

The Veterans Moment of Silence Act designates two minutes of silence on each Veterans Day for Americans to collectively pause and honor those who have served in our armed forces.  The time of 2:11 p.m. Eastern Standard Time has been chosen to allow for all time zones in the 50 states and Puerto Rico to take part.  

“We owe our veterans a debt of gratitude that can never truly be repaid.  But we can try.  This moment of silence will speak volumes about our respect and gratitude for those who served our country in uniform.  And, it will provide an example for future generations to honor the sacrifice of our veterans.”