WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressman Stephen F. Lynch (D-Boston) and Congressman John Culberson (R-Houston) reintroduced H.R. 1220, legislation establishing the Adams Memorial Commission to design and construct a permanent memorial to honor John Adams and his family’s legacy in Washington, D.C. 

President John Adams served the United States as the second President, the first Vice President, a diplomat, a defender of due process, and a Founding Father. President Adams and his family dedicated their lives to the ideals and values upon which our country was founded. President Adams was the first President to reside in the District of Columbia and occupy the President’s House, now known as the White House. Yet, there is no memorial in Washington, D.C. dedicated to President Adams and his family’s legacy.

“By honoring President John Adams and the Adams family with a memorial in our nation’s capital, we will ensure these dedicated public servants are recognized for their remarkable role in the founding of our country,” said Congressman Lynch. “H.R. 1220 will establish this long overdue memorial and complement the important work the Adams Memorial Foundation has accomplished over the years. I thank Congressman Culberson and our colleagues for their bipartisan support of this important initiative to rightfully honor the Adams’ family in Washington, D.C.”

“President John Adams’ commitment to freedom shaped the nation we know and love today. His legacy lives on in America’s founding principles, and this monument honoring his legacy is long overdue. I’m proud to introduce this bipartisan legislation with Congressman Lynch to pay tribute to one of our nation’s most influential Founding Fathers,” said Congressman Culberson.

“The Adams Memorial Foundation once again thanks Representatives Stephen F. Lynch (D-MA) and John Culberson (R-TX) for their continuing bipartisan support of this important effort to establish a permanent memorial to honor John Adams and his legacy as a Founding Father of our nation.  This important legislation will establish the Adams Memorial Commission, composed of appointees by the President and Congress, to build upon the work of the Adams Memorial Foundation in designing and constructing a long overdue memorial of which all Americans can be proud,” said Ben Adams, President of the Adams Memorial Foundation.

In particular, the bipartisan Adams Memorial Commission will be composed of four presidential appointees, four members of the United States Senate, and four members of the United States House of Representatives. The Commission is required to report its recommendations for the nature, location, design, and construction of the memorial to the President and Congress at the earliest date possible and will report annually on its progress. 

H.R. 1220 is co-sponsored by U.S. Representatives Michael E. Capuano (MA-07), Steve Chabot (OH-01), Katherine Clark (MA-05), Bill Keating (MA-09), Joseph P. Kennedy III (MA-04), Jim McGovern (MA-02), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Richard E. Neal (MA-01), and Niki Tsongas (MA-03).