Senators John Kerry and Scott Brown, along with Representatives Stephen F. Lynch and Niki Tsongas, today announced that firefighters and emergency response teams across Massachusetts will receive an additional $2,741,613 in federal funding to improve the safety of our communities and firefighters.

The funding, awarded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Assistance to Firefighters Grants (AFG), will go towards training, health programs, new safety equipment and emergency vehicles, and increased training for front line firefighters in communities.

"With local budgets crunched, this investment helps make up some of the difference and makes sure that our firefighters are as safe as possible doing an unbelievably dangerous job. Equipment and training is the least we can provide for these heroes,” said Sen. Kerry.

“Our fire chiefs and firefighters always tell me how important these grants are, and I’m proud that our local departments continue to receive this much needed support. Our firefighters deserve to have the equipment and training necessary to continue doing the heroic work of protecting our communities,” said Sen. Brown.

“Our firefighters are on the front lines every day and they need the proper equipment and training to do their jobs effectively. I commend Chief George Rogers and the entire Bridgewater Fire Department for their hard work and commitment in securing this fire grant.  This funding is crucial in helping our firefighters keep the town of Bridgewater safe,” said Rep. Lynch.

“Our fire and rescue personnel selflessly serve our communities and it is so important that they have the emergency equipment they need to do their jobs and stay safe.  I congratulate the Lawrence Fire Department for their work in obtaining these funds which will be used to purchase a new aerial ladder truck and help protect the City,” said Rep. Tsongas.

The following fire departments have received AFG funding:

Halifax Fire Department

Lawrence Fire Department

Rockland Fire Department

Fairhaven Fire Department

Salisbury Fire Department

Watertown Fire Department

Bridgewater Fire Department

Dennis Fire Department

Kingston Fire Department

Beverly Fire Department

Peperell Fire Department

Westport Fire Department

Hanover Fire Department