:.5in;">“We are writing to request that the Oversight Committee and the Judiciary Committee launch an immediate joint investigation into whether President Donald Trump and his top officials are engaged in an ongoing conspiracy to obstruct the criminal, counter-intelligence, and oversight investigations currently being conducted by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Department of Justice, and Congress into members of his presidential campaign and their contacts with Russian officials.”

The letter explains:

“Given the gravity of the events that have occurred over the past several weeks, there is simply no reasonable question that the Oversight Committee and Judiciary Committee should already be conducting a robust investigation of these issues that includes public hearings, document requests, and interviews and depositions.  It is unacceptable to continue ignoring these scandals.”

With respect to the Oversight Committee’s lack of action to date, the letter states:

“Although Chairman Chaffetz recently sent a letter to the Department of Justice Inspector General, we believe that response is anemic—especially for the Oversight Committee, which claims to be the premiere investigative body in the House of Representatives—and particularly in comparison to the multiple ‘emergency’ hearings he called and the unilateral subpoenas he issued as part of the investigation into former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton.”

With respect to the Judiciary Committee’s lack of action to date, the letter states:

“On several occasions—through at least four letters to Chairman Goodlatte, and in debate on three separate resolutions of inquiry debated in the Judiciary Committee—we have called for the Majority to take action ‘to ensure the integrity and independence of both the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation’.”

The Members conclude:

“We are concerned that the continued failure of House Republicans to take action in the face of this onslaught of allegations will cause significant damage to the faith that the American people have in the credibility and integrity of our Committees and the House of Representatives.  We have a solemn obligation under the Constitution to act as a check on the Executive Branch and to hold President Trump accountable.  It is time to do our job.”

The letter requests an immediate public hearing with Director Comey and copies of all of the FBI Director’s memos relating to the President, as well as all associated agency and White House records, including any audio tapes, and notes, if they exist. 

The letter also requests that the Oversight Committee schedule an immediate vote on a motion to subpoena the White House to produce documents it has been withholding in response to the bipartisan request from Ranking Member Cummings and Chairman Chaffetz on March 22, 2017.  All Democratic Members of the Oversight Committee sent a letter to Chairman Chaffetz on April 27, 2017, insisting that he press the White House to produce these documents, but the Chairman refused to even hold a meeting.

Click here to read the full letter.

List of Members Signing Letter


Elijah E. Cummings                            John Conyers, Jr.

   Ranking Member                                Ranking Member

   Committee on Oversight and              Committee on the Judiciary

   Government Reform

Carolyn Maloney

Eleanor Holmes Norton                      Jerrold Nadler              

Wm. Lacy Clay                                   Zoe Lofgren

Stephen F. Lynch                               Sheila Jackson Lee

Jim Cooper                                        Steve Cohen

Gerald E. Connolly                             Henry Johnson

Robin L. Kelly                                    Luis Gutierrez

Brenda L. Lawrence                           Karen Bass

Bonnie Watson Coleman                    Cedric Richmond

Stacey E. Plaskett                               Hakeem Jeffries         

Val Butler Demings                            David Cicilline

Raja Krishnamoorthi                           Eric Swalwell

Jamie Raskin                                       Ted Lieu

Peter Welch                                         Pramila Jayapal          

Matt Cartwright                                  Bradley Schneider

Mark DeSaulnier                                 Theodore Deutch

John Sarbanes